When my family goes out to dinner, they have their usual main staples of Applebee’s and Cracker Barrel with various other chains on occasion.  When they invited me to dinner a couple of weeks ago I agreed, but only if I could take them somewhere new.  I had to make sure the place I decided on would have comparable prices to the place my parents already go and is also kid friendly.  So where is it I went?  The Sportsman Inn in Monticello, Indiana.  Excellent food, great prices, and a fun overall experience.  You can dine inside by the windows that overlook Lake Freeman or enjoy food and drinks on the deck while taking in a cool night breeze.  The Sportsman Inn also has year round boat and jet ski parking and sand volleyball.  Kids can watch the boats go by or color on the paper table cloth.  Be sure to check out their website and Facebook page for a weekly live music schedule.  Check below from the great dinner I enjoyed with my family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I always have to try whatever dinner special they have, this time being their Cajun Fried Pork Chop.  The meal included a salad, House made veggies, homemade mashed potatoes, and a dinner roll all for only $10.99!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had to steal a bite of my sisters Smoked Brisket Sandwich which melts in your mouth! Their House chips are delicious as well!

 

 

 

 

 

 

The boys enjoyed the Strawberry Shortcake!

 

 

 

Our server, Nancy, truly made our meal more enjoyable.  She was very accommodating and  sweet. Thanks again Nancy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All of us after dinner on the deck.  You can also see a bit of the sand volleyball court in the back.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The kids loved going down by the water and skipping rocks after dinner!

 

 

 

 

 

12340 N Upper Lakeshore Dr. Monticello, Indiana. 574-583-5133. Hours: Dining Room: Sunday-Thursday: 11am to 10pm. Friday and Saturday: 11am to 11pm.  The lounge is open everyday 11am to midnight. Sometimes even later!

